The Alex Cross Series: A Guide from Start to Finish

Disclaimer: When you buy from links on our site, we may receive a commission at no additional cost to you.  Learn more

Looking for a  thrilling reading journey? Checking out the Alex Cross book series, where suspense and crime-solving unfold page by page, maybe the perfect starting point. But where do you start? Here, you’re going to find all the information you need to decide if Alex Cross is the next series on your reading bucket list.

Who is the Author of the Alex Cross Books?

The mastermind behind the Alex Cross series is James Patterson, a bestselling author renowned for his knack for keeping readers on the edge of their seats. Born on March 22, 1947, Patterson has woven a gripping tapestry of crime fiction with his Alex Cross novels, making him a household name in the literary world.

Who Would Enjoy the Alex Cross Books?

If you’re a fan of suspenseful crime stories with a mix of heart-pounding action and clever detective work, the Alex Cross books are tailor-made for you. Patterson’s storytelling style appeals to readers who love solving mysteries alongside their favorite characters, as each book in the series takes you on a rollercoaster ride of twists, turns, and unexpected revelations.

man reading a book
Image Credit Depositphotos ArturVerkhovetskiy

Alex Cross Books in Order 

Here’s a handy list of the first 25 books in the Alex Cross series, ensuring you can follow the gripping adventures of this beloved detective in the correct order:

1. “Along Came a Spider” (1993)

2. “Kiss the Girls” (1995)

3. “Jack & Jill” (1996)

4. “Cat & Mouse” (1997)

5. “Pop Goes the Weasel” (1999)

6. “Roses Are Red” (2000)

7. “Violets Are Blue” (2001)

8. “Four Blind Mice” (2002)

9. “The Big Bad Wolf” (2003)

10. “London Bridges” (2004)

11. “Mary, Mary” (2005)

12. “Cross” (2006)

13. “Double Cross” (2007)

14. “Cross Country” (2008)

15. “Alex Cross’s Trial” (2009)

16. “I, Alex Cross” (2009)

17. “Cross Fire” (2010)

18. “Kill Alex Cross” (2011)

19. “Merry Christmas, Alex Cross” (2012)

20. “Alex Cross, Run” (2013)

21. “Cross My Heart” (2013)

22. “Hope to Die” (2014)

23. “Cross Justice” (2015)

24. “Cross the Line” (2016)

25. “The People vs. Alex Cross” (2017)

26. “Target: Alex Cross” (2018) 

27. “Criss Cross” (2019) 

28. “Deadly Cross” (2020) 

The Alex Cross series, written by the talented James Patterson, promises a thrilling adventure for anyone who loves a good mystery. Whether you’re just starting or picking up where you left off, this list ensures you’re on the right track to enjoy the suspense, excitement, and brilliant detective work that defines the world of Alex Cross. Happy reading!

Motherhood Life Balance, Bookworm Era | + posts

Victoria Cornell helps women adopt a positive mindset even when the struggles of motherhood feel overwhelming. On her sites, Motherhood Life Balance, Neon Moon and Bookworm Era she writes about ways to reduce stress with mindset, manifesting, goal planning, productivity, and more.